A Singapore Sister Story

My sister sent me a link to her own travel diary entry from Singapore and I have to say, it gave me a much needed laugh. She opens:

  • Really, all I did in Singapore is sweat and shop for souvenirs. And really, at that point, what are they souvenirs of, actually? All the good times I spent shopping for souvenirs in Singapore?

I have done no souvenir shopping as of yet, and as such my experience has simply involved sweating in Singapore. In one of those strange sisterly parallels, it turns out she also took the cable car to the top of Mount Faber (although she amusingly keeps calling it “Flaber”) and it sounds as though she is with me in noting that “Mount” is a bit of a stretch. Even Wikipedia calls it a “hill” with a mere 106 m height. It’s apparently not even the highest hill in Singapore! I’m always amused when it turns out that my sister and I are having a moment of shared travel experiences even from many years and miles apart, so I leave you with our favorite little Irving Berlin ditty.

    • “Sisters, sisters
      There were never such devoted sisters,
      Never had to have a chaperone, no sir,
      I’m there to keep my eye on her
      Caring, sharing
      Every little thing that we are wearing
      When a certain gentleman arrived from Rome
      She wore the dress, and I stayed home
      All kinds of weather, we stick together
      The same in the rain and sun
      Two different faces, but in tight places
      We think and we act as one
      Those who’ve seen us
      Know that not a thing could come between us
      Many men have tried to split us up, but no one can
      Lord help the mister who comes between me and my sister
      And lord help the sister, who comes between me and my man”

    I note, for the record, that we actually do wear the same size in some items of clothing and last year even bought a shared skirt for two weddings, one she attended in the Northeast and one I attended in the UK. I think she has current custody of our travelling skirt… Regardless, next time I’m in Singapore I sure hope she’s with me.

    One response to “A Singapore Sister Story

    1. Hey, I can explain my “Flaber” problem, actually. When I went to Singapore the first time, it was a three-day stopover on my way from Norway to Taiwan. In Norway, one memorable experience was a trip up Mount Floyen in Bergen… when I first wrote up the trips, I talked about Norway’s Foyen and Singapore’s Flaber. In my defense, it was a lot of traveling and not a lot of sleeping.

      Now, of course, I can’t remember the password for that blog, so I can’t fix it.

      But I am amused by all these little bits of evidence that we are, after all, most definitely sisters!

    Leave a Reply

    