Joys and sorrows of looking young

In Britain, the drinking age is 18.  (You can buy cigarettes at 16, which never fails to shock me.)  I am more than eighteen months past my 30th birthday, have two graduate degrees and the associated grey hairs and wrinkles starting to form.   And yet, the clerks in my local supermarket are surprisingly interested in my age and whether I am above 18 when I try to purchase something in the “adult beverage” category.   Everyone tells me that this is an advantage and that I will be thankful for it someday.  But quite surprisingly, that day still has not come.  I’m quite annoyed when I get ‘carded’ either in the US or here in the UK, since I have a decade of experience beyond the legal drinking age.  My height does not help: I’m “vertically challenged” in addition to having a youthful visage.  But sometimes I like a glass of vino blanc in the evening and I find this whole thing really irritating.  Age does not equal maturity and height does not equal age.

One response to “Joys and sorrows of looking young

  1. I have to say I “suffer” the same issue of being carded all the time and I’m thrilled! I can only hope to follow in the footsteps of some other members of the family and look 10 years younger for the next 30 years. I went out with a friend last Sunday. She’s 4 or 5 years younger and the waitress didn’t look twice, but asked for my license immediately. I think it’s cool!

Leave a Reply

