An insufficient reason to pond hop

I moved to the UK from the US for a job. That was an okay reason to make the move, although in some ways this eye-opening experience has made me question my sanity. But today a news story had the worst possible reason for moving here–also related to a job, but a bit less grounded than mine:

Europeans don’t care about sex. Whether it’s lusty adultery, underage sex, overage sex, sex by the beach — they just don’t seem to care.

And that comes as joyous news to Tom Kapinos, creator of “Californication,” the brashly risque new David Duchovny series on Showtime.

Duchovny’s character Hank Moody is struggling through a midlife crisis that manifests itself in oodles of explicit sexual encounters. And that explains why it’s on pay cable stateside. But in Europe and some other big TV markets, Hank’s hanky-panky has become fair game for free over-the-air broadcasters who are airing the series without cuts.

Kapinos admits to being a little taken aback by the fact that the Irish and British are airing the series without restrictions. He says he is so delighted that nobody seems to care in the least about the grunting and grinding that he’d definitely think about moving across the pond to work. “It never occurred to me before. But wouldn’t it be great to have all that freedom open up. It sounds tremendous,” he says.

Seriously, the lack of American squeamishness towards sex really does not strike me as sufficient to make up for the more negative aspects of expat life. Don’t get me wrong, if I had to do it all over again I would have made the same choice, but I think this is a lot tougher than it looks. I did not grasp that when I made the decision, and now I am appalled at the idea of someone taking his as lightly as I took it. It is so easy to say “Something pisses me off, I’ll just move to England” and not grasp the logistics of it all. Double taxation and work permit visas and lacking credit records, etc. make your life more complicated than you realize. It is true that they show outrageous stuff on television here, including graphic sex and nudity and plastic surgery. But I’m not sure that’s a good thing. Maybe I’d feel differently had I seen this new tv show.

3 responses to “An insufficient reason to pond hop

  1. I’m not so sure the producing television in the British market is quite the nirvana Mr. Kapinos might think it is, either. This just seems to be a case of “the grass is greener..”etc.

  2. I pond hopped the other way. I moved to Canada as a political refugee from the Thatcher years. They followed me here!

  3. notfromaroundhere

    That’s funny since one of my friends moved here to the UK to escape from the US under the reign of Bush the elder. I’m guessing that was after you would have jumped? When I was interviewing here in the UK I did have several people ask me if I was “voting with my feet” but I really did mostly come here for the job!

Leave a Reply

