Giving in to crackberry

I got a Blackberry this week.  I think I had held out on this one for remarkably long; anyone who knows my “gadget queen” tendencies will be impressed that I managed to hold out for this long.  That, of course, was part of my story.  The greatest thing I wish I had been warned about concerning expat life is the fact that apparently different countries cannot communicate regarding banking and credit.  On arriving here, as a thirty-something employee with graduate degrees, I was starting from scratch with no UK credit record.  Why they can’t just look at my US one I don’t know, but they apparently can’t.   With no local credit record, you cannot get local credit cards, which makes it difficult to do lots of things.  You can’t do much in the way of online shopping, for example.  You also can’t get a normal cell phone account.  The pay-as-you-go cell phones here are actually quite good, and you can “top up” at cash machines.  But I couldn’t get a Blackberry on pay-as-you-go.  I finally got one through work this week, and I love it.  Love it.  Can’t let it out of my sight at the moment.  We’ll see how long that lasts.  I promise I am not going to be one of those people that checks it and types things rudely in front of you, I want to be a nice Blackberry user.  We’ll see how long that lasts too!

One response to “Giving in to crackberry

  1. Oh, I could complain all day about how difficult banking abroad can be… I learned the hard way that being a US customer of my own famous international bank did not automatically entitle me to services at branches of said bank abroad – or even in a different part of the US! My account was opened in Chicago, so there are limits to what I can do with it in DC. Grrr. Then, of course, I have about a thousand stories of traumas I’ve endured at the hands of the Bank of China (where the default is for an account to only be valid in the city in which it was opened).

    But for you now… success! And a new toy! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

