I need a lifestyle manager

Here is one place I am willing to say the Brits have 100% the right idea and the Americans are foolish: absolutely the day after Christmas should be a holiday too.  I present here for Boxing Day a reasonably random assortment of things that I had been saving in open tabs in the very few minutes I spent at the computer over the last few days.

While checking up on the cricket scores, I discovered that what is really missing from my life is a “lifestyle manager“.   Someone that you can hire to do things that you otherwise don’t get around to doing.  Especially errands that can only take place during the day when of course you are working.  The joke amongst us busy women always used to be that we needed wives, but apparently that’s not true any more.  We just need lifestyle managers.  I am ready to hire someone to try and make my stupid, closet-free apartment more livable.  I simply cannot seem to make any headway on it myself.

The Roman Catholic leader in the UK agrees with me  that we non-locals have a hard time in the unfriendly UK.  I loved his Christmas-themed quote:

“I understand that immigration needs to be controlled. However, sometimes they must feel like Joseph when he returned to Bethlehem after exile in Egypt, simply excluded because they are outsiders.”

I could not agree more.

I loved this little story about what Christmas means to the writer.   Always comforting to think of a bunch of Jewish people sitting in a Chinese restaurant in America somewhere wondering about the separation of church and state.   But perhaps they are a bit lucky.   I am somewhat shocked by the way the UK shuts down for Christmas (and Easter too).  It seems to me that completely stopping all train services for the day of Christ’s birth is a bit much, especially in a country where a person can still live a modern car-free existence.

Someone seconded my suggestion that “Once” was the best soundtrack of the year.   I still need to finish that music list I have been promising… see, I really do need a lifestyle manager.

2 responses to “I need a lifestyle manager

  1. I agree that Boxing Day should be a holiday in the U.S. I always celebrate it. Mostly by boxing. 🙂

  2. I need a “puttering manager”. I can handle the big stuff, but the miscellany is what sucks the time out of life. All those little chores that you don’t think about.

    I favor New Year’s Eve as a holiday when it falls on a Monday as with this year. Anything to avoid Monday morning.

Leave a Reply

