No chance for an Easter Bonnet

This is the sort of Easter weekend weather that would have made my mother crazy when my sister and I were little–totally not appropriate for the holiday at hand. The UK is having gale winds, and it has been alternating between sleet and hail this morning. Not a good weekend to dress up in your spring finest. And certainly no weather for an Easter Parade. My sister and I always had lovely new dresses for Easter Sunday, frilly and home-made most times, and we always wore Easter Bonnets. It was the only day of the year that I can recall wearing a hat. And weren’t we cute!

Easter Bonnets

I can’t quite date the picture just from looking at it but it has to be at least 25 years ago, probably slightly more–27 or 28. My how time flies. I’m not sure I could pull off such a hat any more, I just do not have the level of cuteness required!

Update: Almost a total white-out outside now, big fat snowflakes of a sort I have not seen in ages!

4 responses to “No chance for an Easter Bonnet

  1. We, unfortunately, are dealing with 4-6 inches of snow, so I feel sorry for all the little girls who have spring outfits and Easter bonnets here in Minnesota who want to wear them without winter coats! That is such of cute picture – both dresses were indeed home-made, and I’m sure the bag that Merry is holding is full of “goodies!”

  2. I think I can place the year as 1980, next to the Ford Granada in Northfield. Wonderful picture. Now, where are my peanut M&Ms?

    In 1982, Easter was on April 23. The Get In Gear 10km race was the day before on the 22nd, and the last bridge before finish had a gale-force West wind pushing you backwards as you tried to get done. The next day, Easter morning was greeted by 10 inches of very wet snow.

    That’s a month later, and several inches worse, than Cambridge!

  3. Excellent, so my guess at 27 or 28 years ago was not bad at all!

    I’m so glad to be indoors today, the weather is nutso. It was a white-out for about the last 20 minutes and now the sun is out.

  4. Hah! I was guessing the bag was full of candy. It would have to be, for me to be clutching it so earnestly 🙂

    Okay, now I have to go buy dad some peanut M&Ms. Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

