We’re open until we feel like being closed

I recall when Target in my neighborhood in the US switched to a policy of “Open 8 am to 10 pm, 7 days a week” and the only time one had to think about whether Target was open was pre-Christmas (often open until 11) and certain holidays.  When I was a kid Target was not open as many hours on Sunday, but eventually they switched over to the grocery store model which suited me quite well.  I even admit to going to Wal-mart on a few occasions when Target was closed and I needed something at an odd hour.

Trading hours for retail are less evolved here in the UK, and I find it’s a constant battle to figure out when things are open.  The M&S food hall in my neighborhood has shut its doors just minutes before I arrived there not once, but twice this week.  Curious as to how I was going wrong, I checked the opening times for this week on their website:

Monday 09 Jun 09:00 – 18:00
Tuesday 10 Jun 09:00 – 18:00
Wednesday 11 Jun09:00 – 20:00
Thursday 12 Jun 09:00 – 19:00
Friday 13 Jun 09:00 – 19:00
Saturday 14 Jun 09:00 – 18:30
Sunday 15 Jun 11:00 – 17:00

That’s right, for this week, on any given day M&S might close at 5, 6, 6:30, 7, or 8.  Out of a mere 7 days in the week, there are five different possible closing times, and the most frequently that a single closing time is duplicated is twice.  No wonder I’m confused.

5 responses to “We’re open until we feel like being closed

  1. WTF is that, the Anglican rhythm method?

  2. I so absolutely feel your pain. My husband and I could live in the UK for 7,000 more years and we will never, ever, ever understand this.

  3. Wal-Mart is open 24 hours every day. And the one by my house is new, shiny, and clean.

  4. Yes but Wal-mart is still scary. I stopped in one this week for some shampoo and miscellany and it had me absolutely longing for Target. Even without the 24 hour thing.

  5. Pingback: Sudafed in my head « Not From Around Here

Leave a Reply

