In my heart it’s a holiday

In reality, of course, it’s a normal working day in England. On the calendar, it’s simply the 4th day in the month of July. But in my heart it’s a holiday, and I’m thinking fireworks with a soundtrack of Sousa and the 1812 Overture.

In reality, of course, I have a full day of meetings and more meetings, which has been the look of the entire week. Not all of it has been dire, and some of the time has been spent in the lab which is much more fun than time spent at my desk. So this week has involved voluntary long hours and it will continue to do so. Although the pile of work on my desk is now crushing me. And the to-do list for today and tomorrow is pretty harsh. For Sunday I leave for Bavaria.

The irony is that there is a summer barbecue at work today at 5, for which I will take a small break from my paperwork. I’m sure they don’t intend it to be a 4th of July barbecue, but I will pretend that it was destined and that will help with the inevitable wistful longings for home. No one does the 4th like Washington DC, so this one’s for my sister:

3 responses to “In my heart it’s a holiday

  1. Wishing you a HAPPY FOURTH! I just wrote about it on my blog. I’m feeling a little blue today, but I’m doing my best to fight the feeling.

    Janet

  2. Have a great day and for you I hope for delicious hamburgers and hot dogs at the work barbecue, although I doubt it! We leave for Croatia on Monday and then have a trip to Jackson Hole right after (long story), so I am back in town July 20th. Sucks to have just missed you… but I know our paths will cross. Have a great holiday!

  3. I hope they have veggie burgers at your barbecue…. Are you going to offer a toast to the Second Continental Congress? Because that might actually be pretty funny…

    Happy 4th, and I’ll miss you when the fireworks start tonight!

Leave a Reply

