Ode to facebook

OK, I admit it, I live in a foreign country, about 4000 miles from where I started life.  This is, as I have realized, not a very normal situation, since most of the people I know are in Minnesota.  Where we were born.  Or at least went to high school.  But there has been an apparent explosion lately in people from my high school being on facebook.  I *LOVE* this.  I may be alone in a hotel room near Boston (at the moment) and flying back to England where I live (tomorrow) but I have a fast-growing number of “friends” from high school in my virtual world.  The latest explosion seems to have been at least partially related to our 15 year graduation reunion coming up; I can’t attend from my position in the UK but it’s fun to know about it.  But as far as I can tell the facebook explosion is not just due to this, as many of the new “friends” I have are people in the year above or below me in school.  I checked for people I knew from high school maybe 6 months ago, and there were about 30 people per year graduated, and now I see about 90.  It’s great and I hope it continues!  My high school graduating class was 640 so there is a long way to go.

One response to “Ode to facebook

  1. You know, it’s funny you should write this.

    I had steered completely clear of Facebook until invited by my niece to join. I didn’t want to see uncool, so I joined. And amazingly, I’ve found several of MY high school friends – from Salem, Illinois – there. I’ve found kids of friends, too, but that’s another story.

    I’m enjoying Facebook more than I thought I would.

    If you’d care to “beFriend” me there, plug in my email address (which I assume you have, through my comments?) and find me.

    Janet

Leave a Reply

