B-U-S-Y!

I cannot believe how fast the last two weeks have gone by!  I have simply had no spare time at all.  I have no understanding of this concept, really.  There are 24 hours in every day, I’m lucky to sleep 6-7 and normally there’s a spare hour or two in the day to surf and blog and unwind.  But the last two weeks have been wicked and I’ve been mystifyingly silent.   It’s not like I’ve run out of things to say about life as an American in the UK…

Part of the issue was a US visitor for much of the last two weeks–I say issue but actually it was SUCH fun that I don’t want that to sound like a bad thing!  I just got out a bit more than usual, had some fun meals and did the tourist thing with her a bit.  That’s the best part of having visitors, you get out and see more of your town than you would if you were just living here, working a job.

So now I’m a mere 10 hours from being picked up in a car for my trip to MINNESOTA and the STATE FAIR!!!!!!!!!! (Link is to Lileks and his Strib column on the subject–the fair opened yesterday and I’ll be there Sunday, all travels going well, touch wood!  Lileks correctly pointed out that during the fair, we Minnesotans do Americana the best!)  Having drowned in paperwork the last four days, having been scolded by my junior colleagues for working too hard, not sleeping enough nor eating enough, I am heading “on holiday” the way the English do.  I’ll be away a full two weeks, one in Minnesota and one at the beach on the ocean, and during both hopefully blogging more and writing boring emails less!

In the meantime, for a brilliant time-waster, check out the Guardian’s gallery of odd-but-fascinating olympic photos.

Leave a Reply

