Ooh a new book

I clicked on a story on the NY Times website today called “Margaret Thatcher’s Open Secret”–google it if the notorious NYT link doesn’t work–and no, not a wedding announcement, in fact I was so busy being at a live wedding yesterday that I have not yet read them this week! At the start of the article, I found the following introduction:

A colleague in The Times’s London bureau, Sarah Lyall, has just published a book called “The Anglo Files: A Field Guide to the British,” a cross-cultural look at what makes the British British, as seen though the eyes of an American expatriate with an English husband whom she describes as “something out of ‘Brideshead Revisited’.” Given Ms. Lyall’s perspective, I asked her thoughts on the recent revelation that former Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher, like President Ronald Reagan before her, is losing her mind and her memories to a form of dementia. Here are her observations, with a link to the story that is striking a chord on both sides of the Atlantic.

I had the usual reaction, which was to immediately go to amazon.co.uk and buy the book. I should have it later this week, and will let you know what I think, and if it is anywhere near as good as Kate Fox’s “Watching the English”. In the meantime, the rest of the article, about Thatcher and aging, was fairly interesting as well.

3 responses to “Ooh a new book

  1. I still haven’t managed to read “Watching the English” yet but I’ve added “Anglo Files…” to my Amazon wishlist as well… fingers crossed for Santa bringing them this Christmas!

  2. “Watching the English” is awesome, I can only hope that the new book is anywhere close to as interesting. I read Jeremy Paxman’s “The English” and found it not nearly as interesting, although I’m currently quite enjoying his “On Royalty”

  3. Do you have “Rules Britannia” by Toni Summers Hargis? http://www.rulesbritannia.com/

    I have no financial interest in it, I just know Toni from her blog. http://expatmum.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

