I NEED a bagel shop

I had not realized in my US existence how dependent I had been on the local Bruegger’s bagel shop. Egg and cheese bagel in the morning. Hummus on a bagel with lettuce in the afternoon. (Not really a loathed sandwich, and so quite good.) Coffee at any hour of the day. A bagel with cream cheese for a snack on the way home when I worked too late. Smoothies sometimes even. A baker’s dozen box with two cream cheeses to bribe people to come to an early meeting. It doesn’t have to be Bruegger’s either, Einstein’s had its own different charms. But right now, much more so than any of the local options here with their stupid sweet pastries and hideous triangle sandwiches, I need a bagel shop. And although I have seen them in other UK towns, there is not one where I live. Could someone please rectify this immediately? That would be a huge improvement in my quality of life here in the UK.

14 responses to “I NEED a bagel shop

  1. The best bagels I’ve found in the UK – so far, anyway – are the fresh-baked ones at Sainsbury’s. They have almost the proper amount of chewiness inside, while getting crispy on the outside (when toasted, of course).

    However, I have to make my own sandwiches with them. I miss not having that done for me, if I’m in a hurry.

    Or I spread Nutella or peanut butter on one myself at home – YUM!

    Janet

  2. A friend and I are contemplating moving to the UK. Lucky me, He makes his own home made bagels so I wouldn’t be without. I’m sure we will get our British friends addicted as well.

    Love your blog, by the way. Excellent tid bits of information comparing the two places.

  3. I apologise for British sandwiches. You’re so right about them. But at least we don’t smother everything in mayo, mustard and whatever else. This makes it almost impossible to buy a child-friendly option here. My kids would be with you on the plain cheese with no extras thing.

    You’re right. We do need more bagels in the UK.

  4. Yes! A bagel shop would be a thing of beauty. My favourite breakfast was a toasted spinach or rye with lox spread. Must clean up the drool now. /sigh.

    No Sainsbury’s here in the “sticks” but our local Morrisons does a very nice, almost authentic “everything” bagel. One little problem though, I’ve found all the store bought bagels to have massive holes in the middle. o.O This makes “smearing” harder than it should be. There’s a few horrid jokes in there somewhere, I think.

  5. Aaaah, now *I’m* dreaming of bagels, and that’s really unfair. But we do have an excellent bakery with ciabatta bread, that I think I’m now going to have to visit for their lunchtime sandwich special today in spite of the fact that I enjoyed their breakfast special yesterday. Oh well, I’m sure they don’t really mind the business…

  6. Pingback: Another (UK) Food Post « NerdSpawn.

  7. Isn’t it interesting that a slur like “the local options here with their stupid sweet pastries and hideous triangle sandwiches” is okay, but one like “The middle of America is really very dull” isn’t?!

    For bagels in London and its environs, it may be worth also googling the alternative spelling ‘beigel’.

  8. Howard, It is totally different to say, “the local food is too sweet for my tastes” albeit in more colorful descriptive language (although now I see why the local teeth are so bad!) than to say a large portion of a country is dull. Fry showed an urban snobism with that comment. Visit any small town in any country in the world and really spend time there, find out what the locals are proud of, how the town got its start, and there’s always something to see. Every place is there for a reason. The midwest has a rich and cultured history that has been the fodder for a great deal of entertainment (Little House on the Prairie is just the beginning.) I stand by my comments.

  9. I see no difference. To Fry, the middle of America is dull; to you, English pastries are stupid, and English sandwiches are hideous. Both are subjective judgments, thoughI would suspect that more people side with Fry’s than with yours.

    I note your carefully inserted additional slur, but will not comment further on it except to say that maybe it is a shame that more Americans do not share your distaste for sweetness. If they did, perhaps levels of diabetes and obesity in the U.S. could be reduced to what they are in England.

  10. Obesity: US, UK attitudes differ

    Obesity levels in the US and Britain are among the highest in the world, and it is not surprising, therefore, that it is in these two countries that the debate over how to tackle the problem – and who is to blame – is the most advanced. But a recent survey suggests that attitudes in the two countries are markedly different.

    Over half the UK population is currently either overweight or obese – 70 per cent of men and 63 per cent of women, according to statistics from 2002 – and obesity in two- to four-year-old children almost doubled from 5 per cent to 9 per cent from 1989-1998. In the US, meanwhile, no state except Colorado has an obesity rate lower than 15 per cent, although in 1991 none of the 50 states had a rate higher than 14 per cent.

    Yet if both nations have serious obesity problems – indeed, the word epidemic is becoming increasingly widely used on both sides of the Atlantic – attitudes to obesity differ wildly.

    A global study conducted by Universal McCann last week reveals that while US adults will accept personal responsibility for the obesity epidemic, their British counterparts share blame with food manufacturers. The study was carried out in 10 major markets worldwide, and data from the other eight nations will be released at a later date.

    Right, so blame the food manufacturers, not the consumption. There will always be genetic factors in diseases such as diabetes but I’d still rather be part of a culture that accepts personal responsibility rather than blaming Walkers for making crisps.

  11. I notice the article you quote is over four years old.

    > but I’d still rather be part of a culture that accepts personal responsibility rather than blaming Walkers for making crisps

    Fair enough, if that survey is the sort of thing that impresses you, though I am surprised that you, as an engineer, depend in your answer on an attitude survey. Attitude surveys are notoriously ‘fuzzy’. I’d have thought the hard objective facts would have been more important to you. My preference in cases like this is not to hide behind a ‘soft’ attitude survey to make me feel good, but to look at hard statistics such as these: US – 32% adults obese, UK – 22% adults obese (2006 figures).

    BTW, I can’t see anything about Walkers in the article. Is this one of your rhetorical flourishes?

  12. *I* notice that Howard is pretending not to understand what hyperbole is.

  13. Perhaps you notice mistakenly, then: I do not pretend *not* to understand what hyberbole is.

  14. Pingback: Good food, fast « Not From Around Here

Leave a Reply

