You know you’ve lived abroad too long when…

… you can’t remember that someone back home died two years ago.  Oops.  Tonight I managed to talk to my nonagenarian grandmother for 47 minutes–not the longest but not bad–but I asked about her sister who died on Christmas, 2006.  Oops.  I am really out of touch.

3 responses to “You know you’ve lived abroad too long when…

  1. I’m not sure that has anything to do with living abroad, to be honest – it seems more a function of having a lot of great aunts and uncles or just being absent-minded for a few minutes.

  2. Mer, I respectfully and wholeheartedly disagree. You are much more likely to remember someone died when you went to the funeral, or were around seeing the responses of people to the loss, the funeral planning, etc. I guess I wouldn’t have to be abroad to be distant from something like this, just away from home, to encourage the fact that it apparently did not register.

  3. Fair enough, but then it really is that living away from your hometown is a factor, not living abroad. I often find I forget these things, but that could be because I haven’t lived in the same city as my family for nine years. Only a few of those years were overseas, though. You just happened to be abroad for this funeral, but I missed it too because I was in DC.

Leave a Reply

