Brit news round-up v.2

I’ve literally worked 20 hours this weekend–ten each on Saturday and Sunday–and knocked off an insane number of things that needed to be done. I never understand what makes it such that I can wake up on Friday morning and feel uncreative and unproductive and generally useless, but I can then work all weekend long in a quite happy state of mind. The strange beast that is creativity somehow doesn’t act very productive when I am feeling duress, as when the politics at work have taken over. And although perhaps some people working at home are not as productive, I sometimes find that I am more-so.

Today I have a Brit news round-up, of things that amused me in the local press when I checked it over my coffee twelve hours ago:

Any one of these could make me speechless. (Speachless for Malia!)

6 responses to “Brit news round-up v.2

  1. A guy here who has been deployed in Iraq alongside British soldiers was asking me about the word “bloody”, and whether it was a swear word or not. I found it very hard to explain. I’m not sure I even know the nuances of it in everyday life, let alone whatever use it has in military circles.

  2. Casual sex survey:

    An amusing comment appended the Times Online report from someone living in the U.S.(though I must admit I don’t understand her/his second sentence):

    “Over 14,000 people in 48 countries? If that means equal numbers of people in each country it equals 30 people per country. That’s just over 290 people per country. And the UK has a population of how many millions? And no one ever lies on a questionaire right?

    jchappell, Glen Allen, USA”

    What fascinates me is that in America university professors actually get paid to do this this kind of ‘research’!

  3. Howard, as one in the “biz” I can assure you that even more drivel comes out of the UK per academic–funding is more plentiful here and the level of science coming out of the third tier Universities is most certainly laughable in places.

  4. > word “bloody”, and whether it was a swear word or not.

    The word is said to be derived from the medieval profane oath “By Our Lady”, so I suppose it could offend Catholic, Orthodox and others inclined towards Mariolatry who were coincidently aware of its obscure etymology.

    Nowadays I think it is true that the word is pretty meaningless. I’m very much in favour of anything to reduce the number of meaningless words in everyday language, even if — as in the case of the ASA — it is done as a result of a silly decision!

  5. > as one in the “biz” I can assure you

    Ah! It’s good to meet my old friend Argumentum ad Verecundiam again!

    > I can assure you that even more drivel comes out of the UK per academic

    Well, I would be equally fascinated if this were true: I’d be delighted to see your evidence for it.

    > funding is more plentiful here

    I thought that elswhere in your blog you state that funding in the U.K. is not very plentiful? Perhaps I’m mistaken, or confused?

  6. I found working at the weekend significantly more productive for two reasons.

    1. Fewer distractions
    2. I didn’t have to be there – I was there in my own time doing what _I_ wanted to do, and perfectly at liberty to go home if I wasn’t making any progress.

Leave a Reply

