Nose to nose

cars

I’ve been meaning to snap a photo of this bizarre phenomenon for quite some time–I see it all around the UK and it is certainly something that I do not recall ever seeing in America. Does some Brit want to make an attempt at explaining why nose-to-nose parking is so common here? (And it must not be illegal or it would surely be less common?) And how do you actually do it, since you must have to pull over to the “wrong” side of the road to get into the spot?

5 responses to “Nose to nose

  1. I think it is quite simply that parking places are so valuable that you don’t drive by one, even if it is on the wrong side of the road. You just get good at pulling over to the wrong side, and nipping into the space quickly. If there isn’t any traffic coming, then it’s easy if you are practised at parking. If there is traffic coming, the driver will probably guess what you’re trying to do, especially if you point and gesticulate, and may wait for you.

    Parking facing the wrong way is not illegal in Britain (it is in Belgium, I don’t know about other European countries), like it is in the US.

    Unless it’s that British drivers are more compassionate towards the feelings of their cars, and like to leave them face to face so that they can chat (and maybe even blow each other a kiss, who knows?)

  2. like Iota said… parking is valuable and more often than not the roads are too narrow to accommodate parking on both sides of the road. I drive a tiny car and if I’m faced the wrong way it’s treacherous trying to pull out into traffic! So I don’t do it 🙂

  3. it’s weird. parking facing the wrong way in minnesota was illegal. but people routinely did it when I lived in Alaska and here in WA too. Apparently our police officers have better things to do…BUT. The nose to nose of it all still baffles me when I see it.

  4. I just looked it up in the highway code and it says ‘do not park facing against the traffic flow’. And for night parking.
    You MUST NOT park on a road at night facing against the direction of the traffic flow unless in a recognised parking space.’

  5. My first flat in England, was the ground floor of an old Victorian house in Watford. This is exactly what my street looked like and how everybody parked – it’s just the norm’ in the UK!

Leave a Reply

