Black tie bonanza

This has been a very strange week. I moved out of my flat and into what is essentially a hotel room–bed, desk and a tiny en suite bathroom, but no kitchen. I have thus been dining out, but in several very different forms. First of all, I am interested to note that the silverware at Pizza Express is also by Robert Welch–I was there a few nights ago for a quite bite and realized the forks looked remarkably familiar. I had no idea how popular he was when I bought my new table settings!

The odder part of the week, though, was the convergence of two black-tie dinners in less than a week’s time–last Saturday night and last night (Friday). I never went to black tie dinners in the states, and this is actually not the first time since moving to the UK that I’ve done two in one week. I have an entire section of my wardrobe devoted to clothes-that-I-never-would-have-owned-in-the-US, mostly ankle-length skirts and dresses. The winter ones are my favorite, actually, because I can wear velvet. Green velvet last Saturday, and deep garnet red velvet last night. Very festive. As usual, though, the vegetarian entree was underwhelming. This is something that really dominates my work functions, the fact that there is such poor veggie food. I don’t really understand what’s so difficult about realizing that replacing meat and gravy with a pile of vegetables and tomato sauce is not actually nutritionally equivalent–unless the vegetables are legumes (they never are) there is no protein in this combination! And as a long time vegetarian/now-pescetarian, I cringe whenever I see tomato sauce on my plate. I’m just tired of it, could live quite happily without ever seeing it again!

And now back to work. This week has been all about trying to finish a huge project of nearly two years’ duration, so I can not worry about it over Christmas. Wish me luck!

4 responses to “Black tie bonanza

  1. Could you invent some allergies, and then your dish would have to be hand-cooked, and might be more interesting?

  2. OOh that’s a good idea, if I say I’m allergic to tomatoes, for instance…

  3. I totally share your frustration as a vegetarian living abroad. I am from the States but have been living in Argentina, the land of great steak, for three years. Dinner here typically consists literally of bread and meat, and vegetarian options often come with ham (apparently, if it doesn’t come from a cow, it’s not meat). I never realized the impact that food can have on the quality of your life until I moved abroad. And I’ll never understand the Argentine aversion to sauces and spices. It’s always nice to share stories, experiences, and insights with other expats! (If you’re interested, check out my blog – expatessays.wordpress.com)

  4. i blame my five years of vegetarianism for my now extreme hatred of all cooked tomatoes and all tomato-themed meals.

Leave a Reply

