Last night in Glasgow

It’s been a good week (almost) in Glasgow but tomorrow I head home. I had a great trip, I spent most of my week here:

dscn0658

This is the SECC, or the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Center. (Centre) It’s a fabulous venue, I’ve been to conferences in many places that did not boast the convenience factor of this location. Inside it had a convenience store, a coffee shop, several bars, restaurants, it was magnificent. And my hotel was in walking distance, as in easy 5-minute across the parking lot walking distance, and I got the view of this on the way:

dscn0662

An original crane from Glasgow’s heyday as a shipbuilding center, which is being preserved as a monument to the city’s engineering heritage. Fantastic stuff. I also had the “squinty bridge” out my hotel window, here in daylight:

dscn0657

(That’s my hotel between the bridge and the crane!) and in my previous post at night in its red phase (where the total spectrum ranges from red to blue via purple). I have not taken enough pictures of that, but hey, I’ve been working! My evenings were all about dinners out to schmooze with the locals and the conference attendees. But I just looked out my window and saw this:

dscn0669

This makes me remember why travelling for work is still fun. I may not get out into the country-side when I travel like this, but I get to see interesting cities, interesting architecture and lots of places. I was just disappointed this trip that the Glasgow Tower (literally across from my hotel) was still shut for the winter and I did not get the panoramic views.

2 responses to “Last night in Glasgow

  1. unexpectedtraveller

    Hey – I totally agree with your views on travelling and like you have just started to realise the benefits of travelling for work.

    I enjoy reading your blog as I used to live in the UK in the late 90s (in Suffolk – further east – though) and I can identify with a lot of what you say.

    Have you caught up with the pub culture yet?

    U T

  2. Hey hey
    Loved your pics as I used to live in Glasgow too. I loved how the Scots could banter with the best of them. Yes, thinking about it living in York, that is what I miss the most about that lovely city…. oh and the “tube”.

Leave a Reply

