Brighton beach memories

No, not Brighton Beach Memoirs, totally the wrong side of the world. I was in Brighton, UK this weekend for the Brighton Festival, which had one of my favorite modern artists, Anish Kapoor, as artistic director and featured one of my favorite jazz bands, The Dave Holland Quintet, headlining a fantastic concert. Brighton was almost too zoo-y for me to enjoy the festival, with a seemingly endless parade of girls in 4 inch skirts and 6 inch heels and their tattooed boy toys. But I managed to enjoy it just the same. Did all the things one does in a different British town, which is to eat at the same restaurants that are in your own neighborhood and shop in the same shops that are on your own high street. But oddly enough for England, the weather was uncharacteristically gorgeous and I ended up sunburnt from long walks on the beach esplanade. Not a bad bank holiday weekend, not bad at all.

7 responses to “Brighton beach memories

  1. It sounds like you had a great weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. > which is to eat at the same restaurants that are in your own neighborhood and shop in the same shops that are on your own high street.

    Really? I don’t know where the KFCs and McDonalds are in Brighton!

    What shops did you shop in?

  3. I am jealous. Sounds like you had a lovely time.

  4. > Brighton was almost too zoo-y

    Could you tell us what you mean by this?

  5. I love the shops in Brighton!! Perhaps its because I come from a very High Street Shops Only town in Essex. Although saying that here are some lovely villages with good shops all around me.

    Sounds like an ace weekend. Would have loved to seen Anish Kapoor.

  6. I’m glad you had a good weekend! Did you see the Royal Pavillion, and did you find the boutiques? I’m going to Brighton with some friends this summer!

    I can’t wait, I’ve never done the british seaside holiday thing before. We always went to places with mountains instead of beaches, like Scotland. Although Iona has beautiful beaches. If you ever go to western Scotland, Iona is a beautiful, magical little island ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. In keeping with my kurmudgeonly demeanor, I will confess that I’ve never seen a normally visible tattoo (I don’t care about your secret locations) that wasn’t a blight on the appearance of the person.

    For example, take the British actress Julie Graham, who is a decent thespian, interesting-looking, and even attractive. She has the most horrendous markings on her upper arms, and thus, in that context, looks like a dissipated barfly.

Leave a Reply

