Dear so-and-so take 2

My second go at the dear so-and-so format started by Kat at 3bedroombungalow.


Dear dude in a restaurant,

I’m sure you had a very urgent need to top up your mobile phone, or you wouldn’t have been doing it from a table in a restaurant. But did it really not occur to you that those of us sitting near you could hear every detail of your credit card information? And once you did it the first time and it didn’t work, and you switched to a second credit card, did it still not occur to you as you read out another set of credit card details in public? Seriously, do you understand the word “fraud” or know how lucky you are that I am a law-abiding citizen and not using either of your credit card numbers for random purchases right now?

Good luck, dude. Me thinks you’ll need it with that sort of “security” attitude. NFAH


Dear dude in restaurant (again),

Oh yes, I forgot. Aside from the whole credit card thing, why on earth were you sitting there on your phone when you had a totally gorgeous female dining companion? How sad was I to see BOTH of you chatting on your phones instead of to each other. Those of us who frequently dine alone would kill for a companion, and you were just ignoring her. WTF?

Again, good luck. You clearly need it. NFAH


Dear iPhone creator,

You rock my world. I hate to admit it, but it’s true.

Grazie mille, NFAH


Dear me-ten-years-ago,

Wear sunscreen. You’ll thank me for it later. Or you’ll regret it if you don’t.

NFAH


Dear PETA,

I hope you know how ridiculous you sound, going after President Obama for killing a fly. I have been battling flies in recent years and I salute Mr. President for his fast reflexes and sensible policy on fly viability.

Disgusted, NFAH


Dear Kat,

Thanks for starting such a fun game. I swear I’ll do my best to keep at it for Dear so-and-so Fridays.

Best to the gang at the Bungalow, NFAH

6 responses to “Dear so-and-so take 2

  1. I laughed so hard I snorted about the guy on the phone with a date there. Seriously people need to learn to put the damn things down (of course this is coming from someone who just upgraded to a crackberry) (and I swore I would never be one of the thumb people…)

  2. While I’m not a huge fan of BO, I’m an even lesser fan of PETA. Next thing you know, they’re going to be fighting for the dogs’ right to vote. Seriously, don’t they have anything better to do?

  3. I was going to suggest perhaps the guy and girl were sitting at the same table talking to EACH OTHER by phone, but seems unlikely if he was giving his card information.

    Unless . . . ? No, too far Paula!

  4. I once saw a couple in a pub who were both listening to separate mP3 players. On a date, I assume. Seriously – why not just talk to each other?

  5. Mobiles should be banned from restaurants! OMG, it is so rude. If you abso-freaking-lutely HAVE to take a call, get your lazy self up and step outside. Sheesh!

  6. I found you through Alyica’s blog over at Tomato/Ta-mah-to and liked what you had to say about Nigella Lawson, Oxbridge, and the morphing BA into an MA degree. My Brit husband said the same thing when he read the post.

Leave a Reply

