Immigration rules

Not, as in, immigration is awesome, but more as in immigration means there are a whole new set of rules out there. I’m coming up on my 3rd anniversary in the UK and it would probably not be as easy for me to move here now as it was 3 years ago (and that’s not saying it was easy…) Read today’s blog post by Mary Beard about how the new rules might affect British higher education. And do comment, would you have made it under the new rules? I’m probably close to eligible, although the “cash in the bank” rule might have been a problem. Still would be now, and yet I’ve managed to live here without ever having gone overdrawn. And I want to know who chose the arbitrary figures of GBP800 for 3 months as being a significant stock of cash sufficient for migration to another country for a job. Strange. But seriously, the climate in the UK for overseas workers seems to be changing quickly, has anyone else noticed it???

3 responses to “Immigration rules

  1. I entered the UK seven years ago, and if I tried to do it the same way today I would be deported. My method was to marry a local, which is still the easy option, but even for that method the fees and regulations keep piling up.

  2. The aspect of this that I hate (on reading Mary Beard’s article) is that woeful requirement for a job to be advertised locally.

    I can’t tell you how many wild goose chases we’ve been sent on, because my husband has applied for a job that he looks ideally suited for, and then it turns out that they gave it to the internal candidate. I do understand about fair and open competition, and all that, but there should be some code, that means when you read a job advert, you are tipped the wink that there’s no point applying for it. It’s exhausting, demoralising, hugely expensive of time (having to prepare a presentation for the interview, fly there, etc etc). Sorry, that’s a bit off topic, but I agree with Mary Beard, that it’s not a good requirement for the visa. No-one has thought it through sensibly.

    I can’t imagine what it would be like to go through all that, get the job, and then not get through the visa requirements. (Actually I almost can, as it nearly happened to us.)

  3. When I came to the US in 1985, I had a graduate assistantship (tuition waiver + enough money to live on.) The university advised me (informally) to make sure that I could show I had enough money to survive for the summer without a job. The embassy required that I show that I had that money. I didn’t have it. I borrowed money from my grandmother, got a banks statement to show I had the cash in my account, and gave her the money right back again. I worried they might ask at the airport to show that I had access to the money but they didn’t. I ended up working on campus each summer anyway. I loved the fact that working on campus didn’t count as a job as far as immigration was concerned!

Leave a Reply

