I like to be in America

It’s amazing that I have been here more than a week and a half already, and have been through three main stages of the trip. Part of the nature of my whirlwind start to this trip was due to the fact that I was traveling with a junior colleague. I wanted to show her an awesome and multi-faceted technical experience as well as a bit of my country, as long as we were here. So after working solidly all weekend, Tuesday was the day for a bit of fun, and we went to pay tribute to a few of my favorites in the Nation’s capital. Almost first was Einstein, but I was so busy taking photos of my colleague in his lap that I forgot to take a photo myself. On to Lincoln.

DC monuments - 1

DC monuments - 4

Washington.

DC monuments - 3

And my personal favorite, Jefferson.

DC monuments - 6

DC monuments - 7

DC monuments - 8

Inspiring stuff. I was never quite so patriotic before I moved to England.

From there it was over to Georgetown for lunch and shopping on M street. I think I showed my colleague a nice day in DC, and for me it was nostalgic to be back in my old haunts.

2 responses to “I like to be in America

  1. Nice photos. I was in DC as a teenager the week Gorbachev was in town–first time a leader from USSR had been there. It was AMAZING. The energy was crazy. I never felt so inspired to be a part of something in my life. If I had been just a bit older I think that’s the direction I would have gone. I would love to take my daughter one day.

  2. I miss DC. I have been to all those places multiple times, but I think I would appreciate them more now as an adult and expat. *sigh* One day I’ll get back there.

Leave a Reply

