Minnesota trip, by the numbers

  • 5: number of total nights in the trip
  • 4: number of nights spent in Minnesota
  • 1: number of nights spend in Wisconsin
  • 3: number of visits to my beloved nonagenarian grandmother
  • 1: number of grilled cheese sandwiches (Velveeta, of course) eaten at the home of my nonagenarian grandmother
  • 3: number of cups of tea drank at the home of my nonagenarian grandmother
  • 4: number of games of Scrabble played with my nonagenarian grandmother
  • 1: number of games of Scrabble won by me when playing with my nonagenarian grandmother
  • 2: number of times I had lunch at the new Burger Jones in Uptown
  • 2: number of times I had bagels for breakfast (Bruegger’s once, Einstein’s once)
  • 0: number of times I had Starbucks coffee in the midwest (Dunn Bros. and Caribou are both firmly non-zero tallies)
  • 3: number of purchases at the Uptown Art Fair
  • 3: number of purchases in the Maple Grove Shoppes
  • 2: number of awesome gifts from family members
  • 2: number of items I had to carry on the plane in a separate shopping bag when all of said new acquisitions did not fit into my luggage
  • 5: number of times I drove over the new 35W Mississippi river bridge
  • 2: number of times I turned on my rental car to find Jack Johnson playing on Cities97
  • 2: number of new songs heard on Cities97 in 6 days of driving around in said rental car (not that familiar music is a bad thing…)
  • 0: number of times I drove directly by one of my old apartments in Minneapolis
  • 4: number of times I was close enough to one of my old apartments in Minneapolis to feel nostalgic
  • 3: number of times I randomly teared up while driving around town
  • 3: number of times I was asked if I had heard from my ex-husband (not in over 2.5 years, for the record)
  • 1: number of times I had a bad dream about said ex after everyone kept asking about him
  • 2: number of good friends from high school that I got to see on this trip
  • 1: number of high school friends that I meant to see but ran out of time
  • 0: number of cousins I got to see on this trip again due to very limited time (maybe next time…)
  • 2: number of times in the last 3 trips to Minneapolis that I’ve ended up spending time out of Minneapolis at another midwestern town with a Big 10 University
  • 0: number of times in the next 3 trips to Minneapolis that I intend to spend time out of Minneapolis at another midwestern town with a Big 10 University (although who knows if I can really control this…)
  • 3: number of gifts for my parents that I forgot back in England
  • 1: number of gifts for my parents that I brought with me to Minnesota but forgot to give them
  • 4: number of possessions of my sister’s that I meant to bring and also forgot in England
  • 2: number of “care packages” that I will have to send from England to deliver items to parents and sister
  • countless: number of times I’m glad that I finally made it back to Minnesota after a year in England and traveling elsewhere
6 responses to “Minnesota trip, by the numbers

  1. A toasted cheese (Velveeta!) sandwich. Ummmmm!

  2. There are so many thing to miss about Minnesota that you don’t realise until you are away from it. Glad you got to Target, now you have to teach your Grandma about facebook scrabble šŸ˜‰

  3. Mmm, bagels! I miss bagels. The bagel cafe here has closed down… well apparantly it’s going to open up again somewhere else but I’m not sure when.

  4. Sounds like you had a pretty good time! I hate it when I tear up when I am driving!

  5. VELVEETA. It just melts better than cheddar.

  6. Nice blog. After going through it Minnesota became my dream destination.

Leave a Reply

