Life’s a beach

I’m back in the Outer Banks of North Carolina, my absolute favorite place to get a little R&R. Although the internet access is intermittent at best, so my apologies if you are expecting to hear from me by email or any web medium! Life will be back to normal soon enough–I’ll be back in England at work, and commenting on the growing rumbles about American Healthcare Reform and the inevitable comparisons with the NHS. I have a few things to say on this subject 🙂 But not until I’ve put a few more miles on my legs. Beach for me means regular 6 mile walks, semi-regular 10+ mile bike rides, plenty of swimming and surfing, and lots of cooking. And reading books about cooking. I am obsessed with Tony Bourdain. I have a strange obsession with chefs who swear a lot, apparently, since I’m also secretly quite fond of Gordon Ramsay. But at the moment, it’s all Tony in my dreams. And England seems a distant, hazy place, and one in which I’m not 100% sure what’s going on. I really do have a transient life, where living out of a suitcase starts to feel normal after a while. And I can’t decide if that’s a good or a bad thing sometimes.

6 responses to “Life’s a beach

  1. Sounds like you’re having a wonderful time.

  2. Look at you being all physical 😉 Oh and you know about my Tony thing.

  3. > And England seems a distant, hazy place, and one in which I’m not 100% sure what’s going on.

    It’s a shame you’re beyond the orbit of the cricket news, NFAH; the Ashes series is turning out to be a real nail-biter!

    I hope you have a safe and comfortable journey back (I almost said ‘home’!)

  4. Whats going on is that England have won the Ashes! Sorry to spoil your day, NFAH!

  5. Your beach life sounds fantastic!! Fresh air and open space and exercise. Lovely. Soak it up.

    I read Kitchen Confidential a year or so ago and loved it. I have never viewed a restaurant the same again–and I never go to a restaurant on a Monday anymore!

  6. Pingback: Funk-y « Not From Around Here

Leave a Reply

