Unexpected Celebrity Sighting

I was walking in an English town today, wearing jeans and a red hoodie and carrying a very large cup of Starbucks coffee (i.e. looking as much the hapless American as is humanly possible) when I saw something up ahead. A police motorcycle, blue lights flashing, was waiting in a zebra crossing. I looked up the road and saw more blue flashing lights. Several more police. They started moving towards me. Then a fancy black car. Funny, it had a flag on top. I peered in the large car window (not even frosted–perfectly clear) and saw an elderly couple sitting there in the back seat. She had on quite the outfit, a peach hat and matching jacket. No, it couldn’t be… yes, yes it was.

I had accidentally stumbled on the Queen’s motorcade.

A few more cars, a few police, and it was over. And I was shellshocked. I had a stupid grin on my face for at least the next five minutes. The locals I spoke to later in the day were impressed, none of them had seen her in person before. (Contrary to popular belief, not all Brits actually know the royal family.) And yet there I was, minding my own business, walking down a random street being all American, blissfully ignorant of what the royals were up to. (I now know that there’s a website where you can find out where they are and what they’re doing.)

Of course, when I emailed my sister with the “you won’t believe what I just saw” news, her retort was almost as incredible:

I ran afoul of Obama’s motorcade in Seoul today. Good day for us.

9 responses to “Unexpected Celebrity Sighting

  1. Really? That IS a crazy coincidence!
    I must say, that is the most unflattering photo I have ever seen of Her Majesty. That shade of peach does her no justice. She looks like a ghost.

  2. I have had “God Save the Queen” stuck in my head since you told me about this. Do you know how annoying it is to be walking around the house singing that song in your head (sometimes out loud) all the time?

  3. Wow! That’s so crazy! And your sister. What are the chances of that?
    The closest I’ve seen was watching her dogs poop outside of Windsor castle.

  4. I don’t wish to blow your cover, NFAH, but it looks as if she was in your part of the world to commemorate a certain centenary of a certain university.

    On Tuesday she’s off to Bermuda, Trinidad and Tobago. A punishing schedule for an 83-year-old woman!

  5. That’s so crazy! I happened to see the Queen this past Novemeber 11th. At the last minute my boss asked me to go to a conference that just happened to be across the way from Westminster Abbey.

    I got to see her car pull up and I watched as she walked into the Abbey, she looked much smarter in a purple suit that day.

  6. Of course the windows are clear. How else would you see her waving back at you?

  7. She looks old and not very well in that picture. Is it the peach colour?

  8. Pingback: Just another ordinary day… aw who am I kidding? « Not From Around Here

  9. Pingback: Famous people. And not the Big Brother sort. « Not From Around Here

Leave a Reply

