Ten years ago I…

This whole 2010 thing is freaking me out a bit. I mean, I’m heading less than gracefully towards middle age. Or who knows where I’m going. I keep thinking about how different things are in 2010 compared with 2000, which makes me realize I have ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA where I’ll be in 2020. For example:

  • In 2000, I was married, living in a 3BR house that I owned with my husband. We had a dog, a car and an SUV (to help fill three car garage) and all the other trappings of a suburban existence (lawnmowers, snowblowers, etc. to also help fill the three car garage) . In 2010 I am divorced and living in a work-subsidized 1BR flat and I have neither pets nor vehicles.
  • In 2000, the only foreign country I had visited was Canada. In 2010, I live in Europe and have travelled extensively in Europe, Asia and Australia.
  • In 2000, I had a Master of Science degree and was a full time student. In 2010 I have a nearly 5-year old PhD and a full time job.
  • In 2000, I had four living grandparents. In 2010, I have one but she’s a spunky nonagenarian.
  • In 2000, I used dial up internet for email and web access at home. There was no Twitter, Facebook, or Blog in my life. In 2010, I mostly use wireless broadband to access social media and web 2.0 content, although sometimes I tweet or post a blog from my iPhone.
  • In 2000, I was a PC. In 2010, I’m a Mac.
  • In 2000, I was not a great cook and I sometimes made bread in a bread-machine from a just-add-water mix. In 2010, I am an improving and enthusiastic cook, and I make homemade bread on a whim many weeks, without having to take out a cookbook or actually measure much of anything.
  • In 2000, I had never recorded a CD. In 2010, I have two professional recordings on my CV, although I’m no longer finding myself with the time to do music at that level (but I hope to get back to doing at least something musical sometime soon).
  • In 2000, I only had a point and shoot camera. In 2010, I have both analog and digital SLRs but neither has been getting much use lately (darned job again!).
  • In 2000, I wore size (American) 6 jeans. In 2010, I don’t.
  • In 2000, I had never been to Texas. In 2010, that is still true, but I’m heading there tomorrow!
  • in 2000, I had never tasted single malt Scotch. In 2010, I rang in the New Year with a wee dram of Balvenie Double Wood, my current favorite.
  • In 2000, I owned a CD player and a VCR. In 2010, I play music over the Bose speakers on my iMac when home, and over an iPod with noise canceling headphones when on the road. Movies are DVDs or downloads/streaming over the internet.
  • In 2000, I wore contacts sometimes. In 2010, I wear glasses exclusively. (Not bifocals yet; I’m sure that’s coming in this decade, though!)
  • In 2000, I bought books. In 2010, I buy eBooks. (Hooray for the Christmas Kindle!)
  • In 2000, I did not know most of the people who are likely to read and comment on this little reflection. In 2010, I’m a very lucky expat blogger!

So admittedly many of these changes have been in more than just my world: technology has moved on, society has moved on, the world is a different place after a decade. But it does sure make me aware of how little I can predict about where I’ll be, what I’ll be doing, and what life will look like more generally in another decade!

Best wishes to everyone for the new year, and feel free to leave your own “In 2000 I … but in 2010 I …” in the comments! I’d love to know what big changes others have found in their lives over this first decade of the new millennium!

7 responses to “Ten years ago I…

  1. I’ve always been a Mac! Rather than write a very long comment here, I think I’ll write a blog post – it’s time I got around to a new one anyway!

    Isn’t it amazing how much things can change? My life probably changed more between 1990 and 2000 than 2000 to now – but I’m sure I’m at least 10 years older than you so that makes sense.

  2. What’s that about a cd?

  3. So now I need a copy of the CD–can we download it yet?! Very interesting list, I may do the same on mine if i can think of an interesting way to describe in single sentences the chaos that has been the 10 year differences. Hope you’re having fun in TX! Happy new year x

  4. Wait, Texas? Why?

  5. Great post! Here is my attempt:

    In 2000, I was in undergrad, struggling to finish off my last semester. In 2010, I’m a student again…heading back for my masters. Wahoo!

    In 2000, I packed up everything I owned into the back of a Toyota station wagon and drove from Ohio to California to (as I wrote in my journal at the time) “really get my life started already!” (Sigh.) In 2010, I sold everything I had accumulated in 9.5 years in California and packed all the clothing I owned into three bags and hopped the pond to England to….go back to being a student again (oh and live with my sweetie!)

    Hmmm…somehow typing this doesn’t sound like progression. Oh well! I’m certainly smiling more than I have in years!

  6. Great post!

    NFAH, I don’t know if you’ve read this yet, but I think you would find it interesting:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/03/books/review/Dyer-t.html

  7. Ten years ago my kids were someplace easy to get to, and I was at a pretty uncertain career place, had an HP laptop with about 500 MB of storage capability.

    Now the kids live in countries at opposite ends of the world, and I’m pretty settled in the legal world.

    I watched the odd TV show on a 19″ CRT-based TV, now it’s hi-fi, hi-res, 7 foot theater-sized pictures all the way. And I am addicted to mp3 content, and virtually disposable netbooks.

    Still love the family, all you girls.

Leave a Reply

