Just another ordinary day… aw who am I kidding?

It eerily echoed a recent scene. I was walking to work mid-day, after a morning teleconference on my home computer. I was wearing jeans. Not carrying a Starbucks coffee this time. I was about three blocks closer to home/further from work but along the same road, which is one of about three different roads I can take to work. I hadn’t taken this one in a while, and I don’t know why I did today. I’m on the right-hand side of the street. I’m approaching a small intersection, just a tiny one-way road branching off to the right. I look up to see if I can safely cross. Just ahead of me to the left a car is approaching me. I notice it has a front brand badge that I don’t recognize, and I think that’s odd. I’ve become quite used to the logos for Vauxhall and the like. The car quite peculiarly stops when it is directly in the middle of the small intersection, blocking traffic going into or out of the street (had there been any). The front passenger- and back driver-side doors open and men in suits get out. At this point I’m on the corner about to try and cross the small street, but slowing as I approach this unusual scene. Do I cross? Wait? Then the back passenger-side door opens. A man in a suit exits the car. No, it couldn’t be… yes, yes it was.

My British work colleagues were stunned again, that’s 3 royals for me in the space of as many months, and all while walking along the same stretch of road. Maybe I should be taking that route all the time…

9 responses to “Just another ordinary day… aw who am I kidding?

  1. But given that I saw the Queen the first time and Prince Charles the second time, surely I’m entitled to Wills next, right?

  2. Yes, Wills next, you’re working your way down the next in line to the throne!

    I saw Harry when he was training on Salisbury Plain, we drove by one another. It is exciting, it does make your smile. How weird though that it was in the same place.

  3. I was just about to leave the list of celebs I’ve seen and met while here but I will save that for a post of my own!

    It’s funny–I loathe the intense celeb culture here but at the same time I still think it’s fun to see one. I would hate to be one (I enjoy the freedom of going to Tesco’s without my makeup on if I choose), and I hate even more the giddiness that some people are reduced to when they are near one. I have one friend who sees a lot of celebs because her son is an actor and she turns inside out with delirium when she meets one, even after meeting quite a few. I have lost a lot of respect for her for doing that–how is an actor–as talented as he may be, worth that kind of reflex genuflection when she has friends who are well respected Dr’s , lawyers, and academics who do not receive the same infatuated drooling (thank god, they probably say) from her?

    Perhaps it’s like birdwatching. Some are less commonly seen so more interesting when you do see them in person? I don’t know.

    Anyway, it’s still fun when you do see one. 🙂

    • I too loathe the celeb culture here, but on one point I beg to differ–although I’m a staunch republican, as long as the royals have a role in the UK government they do not count in my book as “celebrities”–I reserve that term for the Kerry Katonas and Jordans of the world.

  4. I think they’re stalking you. The probability of 3 in such a short time doesn’t add up…

  5. Awesome way to start your day 🙂
    You don’t have to like the celebrity, but sometimes seeing them makes you realise that they are just people too.
    Exept for Jennifer Annisten, I think she is just a tiny doll in real life!
    If you can do Wills next I will be very, very impressed.
    I saw them all while attending the IOM conference in London. It happened to be the same day as the Queen Mothers Funeral – and we got a front row view. I knew materials conferences were useful for something!

  6. Man, you do have luck! I haven’t seen any, but then again, it’s a proximity issue having been in the Lake District. My husband once thought he saw Alice Cooper when we were in Brooklyn for the day, but I don’t think it actually was Alice Cooper. Plus, royals trump A. Cooper.

  7. Pingback: Famous people. And not the Big Brother sort. « Not From Around Here

Leave a Reply

