On returning to England in September

I am back in England now, I have been spending a great deal of time unpacking boxes. In addition to the great fun of a flat full of boxes to unpack, I returned to a few interesting additional adventures; a dead boiler on arrival that required a serviceman’s visit, thus delaying my chance to have a warm shower directly after the transatlantic flight by many hours. A front door key that seems to be harder to turn than it was before I left and makes me fear getting locked out. (I’m now carrying both sets of flat keys around just in case, making it look as though I was a janitor.) An overnight work trip to Nottingham right at the point at which I would have given just about anything I own in order to not have to be away from “home” for yet another night.

There is a chill in the air, which caused me to spontaneously purchase butternut squash yesterday even though I had no firm plans of what to do with it. I’m thinking it might be a squash soup kind of day today. It definitely feels like a squash soup kind of day. Night is coming earlier. I have the windows all closed and I’m wearing a sweatshirt. And socks. I practically did not wear socks all summer. I do miss the fall colors of America, though. My living room is done up with a decor centered on red maple leaves. Well, when it is fully unpacked and decorated, that is. Which I should be doing now, instead of procrastinating writing a blog entry with very little content. Or maybe making soup. That would be far more fun than unpacking more boxes.

4 responses to “On returning to England in September

  1. Hi NFAH: Yes I have been told to “put socks on” when I complain about the cold, and the hot water bottles (2 of them) are back in the scene again every night. It’s fall alright, but so far I’ve not seen the colors change. I do see mainly the grey skies. Good to know you’re back, and …. let’s see, the weather will not get much better, the unpacking may take a bit more… oh, may the butternut squash soup be delicious. 🙂

  2. Socks. They would interfere with my flip-flops. It still reaches 90 degrees here most days…

  3. Oh, I understand the box-horror. We moved into our London flat two weeks ago and instead of unpacking things, we’ve just continued to shift them around as necessary. Our living room is now a very clever maze.

    Love the blog!

  4. My favorite butternut squash recipe in recent years has been variations on this one, as a pasta sauce for cheese tortellini or whatever pasta I have in the house: http://grubreport.com/kissthecook/butternut.html (Have a butternut squash waiting on the kitchen counter to hopefully cook up this weekend.)

Leave a Reply

