Let them eat cake!

Birthday cake, that is.

Yesterday was my birthday. For the first time, on my fifth birthday in England, I managed to do something fun on my birthday with new friends that I’ve made since living here. The common theme was Americans: I had both bloggers and work colleagues that just happened to be American, and several of them brought their British partners as well. My dear friend came down on Saturday to help me with the party prep, and that turned out to be both fun and a total Godsend when it came to acquiring all the groceries and cooking. I don’t know how I thought I was going to do it all myself. We made chili and guacamole and the cake and set out a tex-mex feast for my wonderful friends. By last night I was exhausted, a feeling which ran straight through to this morning (at which point I cancelled the few meetings I had and took a much-needed rest day). Having the party at my own place was important to me for several reasons. First, several people travelled quite a distance to attend. Meeting up in a restaurant just didn’t feel like it sufficiently expressed my gratitude at their willingness to attend. Second, I really like my new digs and I was really excited to show off what I’ve done with the place now that I’m unpacked and settled. And third, I had promised myself that I was now going to start acting more adult-like and do some grown-up entertaining now that I AM more settled.

It was great fun and I’m really glad I did it, although it was a hella lot of work. Note to self, perhaps go smaller next time and have a small dinner party instead of throwing a larger bash with numbers in the double digits! But I wouldn’t take a minute of it back–I felt so loved and so grateful to have new friends, friends that are really starting to change my views about my life in England and my longer-term future. But now, back to my regularly scheduled life.

12 responses to “Let them eat cake!

  1. Happy belated birthday! It’s the best feeling in the world when you realize you’ve made a solid network of friends who care about you – people who welcomed you and took the time to get to know you. Happy for you!

  2. Glad to know you had a good one, and just a bit regretful that I wasn’t able to make it. Happy birthday!

  3. Happy birthday. Looks like a yummy cake!

  4. Happy birthday! 😀 January babies are awesome.

    My “do” was on the 22nd – friends and I went to Benihana. First time in years that I’ve A) wanted to have a big get-together and B) known enough people I actually wanted to hang out with for a couple hours.

  5. Happy Belated Birthday! It sounds like a wonderful begining to your new year.

  6. Happy for you!

    I’m jealous that you’ve met Crustacean. She’s a great read. And I’m jealous she’s met you too!

  7. 3theperfectnumber

    Many happy returns of the day!

  8. Happy belated birthday! I brought back the same candles for my husbands birthday – except they said ‘old git’. No-one in California knew what they meant!

  9. It was great seeing you again (and Kat: Hi, Kat, and thanks for the soup!) and meeting such a great bunch of people. We had a grand time and were honored to help you mark such a milestone year 😉

  10. Yay! It was such a great day! It was definitely the most happenin’ do in the whole country. Thank you for the invitation! Kat — thanks for the Hershey’s! Michael — lovely to meet you and your lovely wife, S, as well. If we ever move out of the “Apartment of Dooooom” here in Norwich into a more reasonable spot, I’d love to have you all over one day for a BBQ.

  11. You totally omitted my unknown balloon animal skillz! LOL

Leave a Reply

