Totally embarrassing

I have mentioned previously how close my nearest neighbors are: I can see things out my window when doing dishes that perhaps I should not see. I can also see beautiful things. But because of the proximity, I’m faced with a new challenge this week: what happens when you realize that the people you see out your window are colleagues? I’ve come to realize in the last few weeks that not one, but two of the flats that I can see out my window when doing dishes are populated by work colleagues. And I have witnessed details of their lives that I would not necessarily want to know. I know about the complicated amorous relationships. I know about the musical tendancies (i.e. picking up the guitar to play late at night)… I’ve not revealed my knowledge to the colleagues of note but feel strangely like I’m an unwanted and unintended voyeur into the intimate personal lives of a few colleagues with whom I would really rather maintain solely professional relationships… I feel as though this is truly a country with streets too narrow.

15 responses to “Totally embarrassing

  1. OMG – now the streets are too narrow? What next, the rain too wet?

  2. hmm. avert thine eyes. and if they ever bring it up, play dumb. πŸ™‚

  3. NFAH,
    How is housing over there? Would it be too expensive to have a home in a less populated place, or would that create a problem to commute?
    I’m just thinking how to possibly avoid an embarrassing situation at work, should your co-workers ever read your blog!
    Thanks for giving me a great read while I convalesce.

  4. Just make the most of it! I am sure it is better than TV. I thought straight away of the film Delicatessen from the early 90s….

  5. This is actually sort of funny. I had a similar situation when I lived back in Miami. Personally, I sort of agree with Peter but I’m really too nosy for my own good some times. To avoid problems though, you should go with dreambird and avert your eyes (seeing as how these people work with you).

    I’m not really sure where rimfire’s comment is coming from. Just in case you’re wondering though, yes, rimfire, the streets ARE too narrow in Europe, especially when compared to streets in the US. This is not a criticism, it’s just a fact. Still, I find that this gives European cities a lot of charm even if it is a bit annoying when you need to park a car.

  6. Lance, the population is very differently distributed here than in the US; it’s good that people are crammed into high density villages if you’re a strong opponent of urban sprawl.

    Rimfire, the street is one-way and barely wide enough for one car, so I do think it’s a bit too cozy! But of course it IS based on my being accustomed to America and American attitudes about privacy and space!

  7. What would yoou people do in Venice? Complain that the streets are too flooded?!

  8. You know, Howard, they really should do something about the streets in Venice. Let’s start a campaign!

  9. NFAH,
    Sorry, about that. I’ll be good.

  10. > they really should do something about the streets in Venice. Let’s start a campaign!

    Excellent idea, Lance! πŸ™‚ … And while they’re fixing the drainage problem, perhaps the Doge and the city fathers could do something about widening them — the Grand Canal is fine, but the others could do with something to bring them up to standard! And that Rialto — don’t you just wish they’d knock it down and put up something more modern in stressed concrete? πŸ™‚

  11. Great idea Howard – or they could declare an emergency, call out the National Guard, and get George Bush to organise an evacuation- after all, the place is flooded! Or, just to make Americans feel at home, arm all the gondoliers with sub-machine guns!

  12. NFAH,
    Thank you for allowing some of us to stray away from the actual subject matter. I found your blog because I wanted to learn about the English and their culture. I didn’t realize that through this blog I could find some who would be so willing to share their experiences, feelings and even humor. I do appreciate it very much. As for Howard, I find him quite clever (and amusing), everything I hoped from an Englishman. Sometimes our wit can’t be heard through our typing, but I will give my new found friends my understanding. I hope that I may continue to learn as I read through past submissions and other blogger’s posts.
    I admire you for having the ambition to strike out in a new country where only your work is familiar. Then take in a culture, so historic and foreign yet mothered our own. To speak a common language with your new hosts must surely have its advantages, even though there is such a barrier of slang, verbiage and accent. My greatest questions still must be answered. How does the general public truly feel about Americans? Would I be welcomed by most? Would they enjoy learning about me as much as I wish to know them?
    I understand we have significant cultural differences…just like your neighbors without blinds, however, these are just the things that I hope to learn. I hope I may do it here.

  13. Lance – if you like Howard’s sense of humour (as I do), try http://barrybeelzebub.blogspot.com for a hilarious and typically british take on life.

  14. Lance and Rimfire, thank you for your kind words.

    Howard

  15. I would strategically place or hang some plants in the window area to obscure my view of my neighbors, if it really bothered me.

Leave a comment